top of page

A Decade of Resolutions

It's kind of crazy to think that our measurement of time- years, months, even days of the week- are basically man-made constructs that don't really mean much. At the same time, these have become valuable tools for humans to help put a timeline on things and a point to set goals.




That is why I've always loved celebrating a new year. Yes, it was just another day but it signified new beginnings and an opportunity to set my aspirations into motion. It's kind of strange how I enjoy setting up goals or planning something more than actually going through with the plans. Therefore, I have always used the start of the new year as a way to look back on the previous years and plan out and set resolutions for the future. More so in recent years, instead of partying or doing something out of the ordinary, I have actually been enjoying the quiet and the introspection.

I used to be quite superstitious back in the day- a devout believer in God and Karma. I was self-centered enough to believe that the gods and the universe would grant me my wishes over 7 billion other people if I tried hard enough.

I vividly recall a decade ago, just as the clock struck midnight into 2013, I took out one of my textbooks and read a page of it, believing that however I started the year would set the tone for the whole year. I was in class 12 that year and I was determined to study like I had never done so before. I wanted to set a precedent, a sort of "tendel", for the entire year by starting it nose-deep in a book.

The beginning of 2013 remains etched in my memories not because of what I did but because of what I felt. I don't remember what subject I studied or even where I was but I do remember the feeling of determination and motivation that I felt at that point.

Since then, I have been making resolutions and I have pretty much stuck to them- at least for the first few months. For 2024, I am plan on working on my physical and mental health. I need to be more mindful of what I eat and take better care of my body. I should let go of meals or activities that give me instant gratification and instead focus on long-term happiness or contentment. Of course, this isn't going to be easy and it might require life long commitment but I think it'll be worth it. Especially if it can help avoid the "Nyam ta chay nu mey" comments every time I go outside!



RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page